PDS Geosciences Node Community

Possible to use LOLA instrument data to generate heightmap?

aviator2005

I'm completely new to this field and trying to engage in some self-study through a personal project.

I'm trying to determine if it is possible to generate a heightmap using data captured by the LOLA instrumentation on the LRO mission that can be imported to a 3D modeling tool to generate a terrain mesh mirroring the lunar surface.

If it is possible, could someone please point me to subject areas I need to be reading up on to be able to understand the data/process better?

If it is actually possible and I'm able to generate a terrain mesh I'd like to see if its possible to apply high resolution imagery captured as a texture to the created mesh. All the while, keeping the entire model scaled in the sense that size is represented accurately and the texture is overlayed on the mesh so that rocks/craters are all positioned correctly.

Any insight would be incredibly helpful.

Thank you!

Hi,

The simple answer is yes.  LOLA provides two data sets that can be used for creating height maps.  And then you can overlay images from sources such as the Lunar Reconnassance Orbiter Camera (LROC) or Clementine's Hi-Res Camera.  Note, getting the terrain height map can be pretty straight forward but getting the overlay images can be challenging.  It makes it easier if you work with tools that understand map-projections such as ESRI's ArcGIS, ENVI, QGIS, etc.  And if you are going to work with individual LROC CDR images, you may want to get familier with USGS's ISIS tool kit which will allow you to map project individual LROC CDR images.