PDS Geosciences Node Community

Opening .img binary files

Sarah020

Hello,

I'm new to using the PDS node and I am struggling to open the .img files that I have downloaded. I'm able to view the .jp2 images associated with each data set, but not the .img files. I know that they are binary data files but I don't know how to access the data within them. Is there any way of getting them into an ASCII or other numerical based format, eg an x,y,(other variable) format? I'm hoping to analyse the data on a Linux system, so any advice tailored to Linux would be appreciated!

Thank you very much,

Sarah

Sarah,