PDS Geosciences Node Community

Parsing LRO LOLA GDRDEM IMG Files

Jee

Hi!

I'm looking to utilize and manipulate Lunar Terrain data for a project I'm working on. For some quick background, I essentially want access to as much lunar terrain data as I can get for a project that takes a Latt/Long coordinate and returns a Map of that area with the chosen terrain data laid on top of it. I understand there are already some similar tools out there, but that is just a high level description of what I want to do. There's a lot more to it that necessitates me needing to develop my own custom app for it.

With that being said, I'm still relatively new to some realms of the software world. One of those realms being parsing binary IMG files into a format that I can manipulate with code.

I've figured out what data I want. I think starting with the LRO LOLA GDRDEM is probably what I want to do. I'm starting with the Data Product LDEM_4. Starting small in order to iron out this parsing stuff. I've also figured out how to view the data utilizing NASAView. The only thing I'm pretty unsure about is how to parse the data into a form that I can manipulate and utilize on my own. FYI, I'm currently doing all of my work in C#

From what I've learned thus far, it seems as though I'm going to need to learn a lot more about serialization and binary data. And I'm completely open to being told that I'm simply to inexperienced and need to go learn more, but I wanted to check here first to see if anyone had any pointers or resources to get me started.

With all that being said, my main question is:

Are there any resources or guides available to help me figure out how to parse the IMG files associated with the LRO LOLA GDRDEM LDEM_4 Data Product into data that I can manipulate and utilize how I see fit?

Also, am I heading down the completely wrong path or does it seem as though I'm moving in the right direction for what I'm looking to do?

Looking forward to seeing any responses. Thanks!